You Asked: Does Upgrading Mac Os Erase Files?
Contents No. Generally Speaking, Upgrading to a Subsequent Major Release of macOS Doesn’t Erase/Touch User Data. Pre-Installed Apps and Configurations Too...
No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.
Do you lose files when upgrading macOS?
A quick side note: on Mac, updates from Mac OS 10.6 are not supposed to generate data loss issues; an update keeps the desktop and all personal files intact. The following explanations will be useful if your OS is new, to avoid data loss.
Must Read
Will I lose my data if I upgrade my OS?
No, software update does not erase the device. All apps and data are preserved across the update. However, if the update process is interrupted due to power cut or an error fails to update software, you may lose your existing phone data.