You Asked: How Do I Trace an Image in Illustrator?
Contents

Choose Object > Image Trace > Make to trace with default parameters. Illustrator converts the image to black and white tracing result by default. Click the Image Trace button in the Control panel or the Properties panel, or select a preset from the Tracing Presets button ( ).

How do I outline an image in Illustrator?

Choose File > Place and select an image to place into Illustrator document.

  1. Choose File > Place and select an image to place into Illustrator document.
  2. The image is selected. …
  3. With the Stroke highlighted in the Appearance panel, choose Effect > Path > Outline Object.

How do I convert an image to a vector in Illustrator?

Here’s how to easily convert a raster image into a vector image using the Image Trace tool in Adobe Illustrator:

  1. With the image open in Adobe Illustrator, select Window > Image Trace. …
  2. With the image selected, check the Preview box. …
  3. Select the Mode drop down menu, and choose the mode that best suits your design.
Chloe Bennett

Chloe Bennett

Culture, Media & Entertainment Columnist

Chloe Bennett explores the intersection of pop culture, streaming entertainment, digital trends, and contemporary lifestyle. Her weekly commentary reaches thousands of culture enthusiasts.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest