You Asked: What Files Does Windows 10 Reset Keep?
Contents

Before going ahead, there are a few things you should be aware of: Resetting your Windows 10 PC means that all the system files are deleted and then restored to their originals. All your desktop applications are removed from your PC, so you have to reinstall and reconfigure each of them after the reset process is done.

Does resetting Windows 10 remove all files?

Reset removed everything, including your files–like doing a complete Windows resintall from scratch. On Windows 10, things are a bit simpler. The only option is “Reset your PC”, but during the process, you’ll get to choose whether to keep your personal files or not.

What does Windows reset keep?

Using Reset This PC with the Keep My Files option will essentially perform a fresh install of Windows 10 while keeping all your data intact. More specifically, when you choose this option from the Recovery Drive, it will find and back up all your data, settings, and apps.

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Consumer Tech & Gadget Reviewer

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.

Share this article
Twitter Facebook Pinterest